AIC Gold Medal Award

Chemical Pioneer Award

Student Awards

Ethic Awards


Dr. David M. Manuta
Dr. David W. Riley


























Gold Medal Awards


Call for 2017 Nominations
Deadline - 10/14/16






















Gold Medal Awards:

The Gold Medal is The Institute's highest award. It is given annually to a person who has stimulated activities of service to the science of chemistry or the profession of chemist or chemical engineer in the United States of America. In recognition of their achievements, Gold Medallists are given Life Fellowship in The Institute.

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2015 Gold Medal Award.

Previous Gold Medal Award Winners


First presented by the AIC in 1926, the Gold Medal is the AIC’s highest award. It recognizes service to the science of chemistry and to the profession of chemistry or chemical engineering in the United States. Previous winners include Nobel laureates Glenn T. Seaborg and Herbert C. Brown, as well as other renowned researchers and scientists representing the many facets of the world of chemistry. Recent medalists include Elizabeth Blackburn, Jacqueline Barton, and George Whitesides.

The 2016 Gold Medal Award will be presented to Dr. Chad Mirkin at the Chemical Heritage Foudation's Heritage Day on Monday, May 16, 2016
Dr. Chad Mirkin

Dr. Mirkin will deliver a formal lecture on a topic relevant to the basis for winning the award at the award ceremony during Chemical Heritage Day.

The American Institute of Chemists: Founded in 1923, The AIC advances the chemical sciences by establishing high professional standards of practice and emphasizing the professional, ethical, economic, and social status of its members for the benefit of society as a whole. The AIC engages in a broad range of programs for professional enhancement through the prestigious Fellow membership category, an awards program, certification programs, publication of the refereed journal The Chemist, and meetings.

Dr. Jacqueline K. Barton was awarded The AIC Gold Medal for her outstanding research in DNA chemistry, her role as devoted educator, and her unwavering support of the chemical enterprise. Professor Barton has pioneered the application of transition metal complexes to probe recognition and reactions of double helical DNA. She has focused on the role of DNA charge transport chemistry in DNA repair. Through this research, Barton has trained more than 100 graduate students and postdoctoral students, with about half in academic positions.

"The AIC Gold Medal was the first major prize in chemistry awarded to a woman, Mabel Garvan in 1929," said David Manuta, AIC president. Jacqueline Barton joins the ranks of 90 great chemists who have received the AIC Gold Medal over the past eight decades. After a postdoctoral fellowship at Bell Laboratories and Yale University with R. G. Shulman, Barton became an assistant professor at Hunter College, City University of New York. In 1983, she returned to Columbia University, becoming an associate professor of chemistry and biological sciences in 1985 and professor in 1986. In the fall of 1989, she joined the faculty at Caltech. In 2009, she began her term as Chair of the Division. Dr. Barton is the Arthur and Marian Hanisch Memorial Professor of Chemistry and Chair of the Division of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering at the California Institute of Technology.

Throughout her career, Barton has received numerous awards. These include the Alan T. Waterman Award of the National Science Foundation (1985), the American Chemical Society (ACS) Award in Pure Chemistry (1988), the ACS Eli Lilly Award in Biological Chemistry (1987), ACS Garvan Medal (1992), and the ACS Breslow Award in Biomimetic Chemistry (2003). She has also received the ACS Baekeland Medal (1991), the Fresenius Award (1986), the ACS Tolman Medal (1994), the Mayor of New York's Award in Science and Technology (1988), the Havinga Medal (1995), the Paul Karrer Medal (1996), the ACS Nichols Medal (1997), the Weizmann Women & Science Award (1998), the ACS Gibbs Medal (2006), the ACS Cotton Medal (2007), and the ACS Pauling Medal (2007). She was a fellow of the Sloan Foundation, a Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar, and an NSF Presidential Young Investigator. She is a recipient of a prestigious MacArthur Foundation Fellowship (1991) and she has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1991), the American Philosophical Society (2000), and the National Academy of Sciences (2002), along with an honorary fellowship in the Royal Society of Chemistry (2014). She has received ten honorary degrees including Yale University (2005) and Columbia University (2010). She also received university medals from Barnard College (1990) and Columbia University (1992). She has also served the chemical community through her participation in ACS, government and industrial boards. Based upon her industrial board service, she was named an Outstanding Director by ODX (2006). In October 2011, Dr. Barton received the 2010 National Medal of Science from President Obama. In 2015, she received the ACS Priestley Medal.